/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Catholic wife pregnant, Reserved cousin waiting for marriage, Family doesn't know...

Bulut
10-08-2012, 08:20 PM
I'm a student living in the U.S. My family reserved one of my cousins for me to marry 3 years ago. I agreed with them on the arrangement back that time. I never had the chance to go to my country to visit my family since then.
During this time here in the U.S. I have had a relationship of 1 year with a catholic woman. She agreed to do the niqah 5 months ago. Today we found out that she is pregnant. My family does not know about my relationship. My parents will have a big shame on them in the family because of my arranged cousin. I don't know what to do in this case.
To be honest I could not adapt to the life in the U.S. Now, I'm thinking that would be better for me and my family if I go back home, but my wife here is pregnant. My family expect me to go back home in a year. I don't know if I should disappoint my family and keep staying in the U.S. with her and have my baby or should I leave and not lose my family and get married to my cousin.
Very complicated situation, full of mistakes, stress, regret, and shame.
Please guide me. Thank you!

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Snowflake
10-13-2012, 11:47 PM
The conditions of marrying women of the Book is that she is chaste and that any children born from them be raised as believers. If you leave your wife and she goes on to have your child, that child will most likely be raised as a non muslim. Since the nikah has already taken place, you must make every effort to invite your wife toward Islam, as in her current faith, she may have habits which are damaging to the sanctity and purity of a muslim way of life and household.

Besides this, a man is responsible for guiding his family in religion. This means you must raise your child as a muslim and not abandon him/her to be raised as an unbeliever.