/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hi

ZackMartin
10-13-2012, 08:47 AM
My name is Zack, I am a student of religions. Recently I have been reading the Quran and I had some questions, so I came here to see if anyone could answer them for me.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
sister herb
10-13-2012, 09:47 AM
Peace with you and welcome to forum.

Lets see what kind of questions you might have.

Muslim Woman
10-13-2012, 09:57 AM
Salaam/ Peace

Welcome here.

Feel free to ask questions about Islam .

ZackMartin
10-13-2012, 10:38 AM
OK, so I am reading the Quran, and I haven't got very far, just to the beginning of al-Baqara, and there I see, first ayat, A L M. One of the Muqatta'at. Now, I've read bits of the Quran before, and I've read a bit about the Quran, so I know a little bit about the Muqatta'at. I know Islamic scholarship has many opinions on what they mean, and it isn't a settled matter.

But an idea occurred to me as to their meaning, and I wanted to know what people thought of it. Of course, I don't expect anyone to endorse my idea as the right one, given the immense of variety of opinions on this, and given that others far more knowledgeable in these matters than me have tried to tackle them without clear success. But I just really want to know if my idea has any prior history in Islamic scholarship (surely I cannot be the first to have thought of this) and whether it makes any sense, whether it has any plausibility.