/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Please help me understand if any job/earnings I may receive might be halal??!!

Aishath
01-04-2013, 07:37 PM
Assalaamu Alaikum

I am really worried if any future job I may hold may not be halal income for me. I am studying abroad without mahrams at all currently

This is very common practice amongst people back home to send their daughters abroad too even though its a muslim country. I was 16 when I first came abroad and at that time i didn't know at all it wasn't allowed. No one said so and the decision wasnt really mine. I only started finding out towards the end if my degree but at that time I didn't think much about it. I cancelled a holiday I had planned based on that ruling but didn't consider the matter more seriously. It was a time of a lot of transitions for me in terms of me practicing Islam better and trying to establish good routines like salat. So understandably I put it to the back of my mind at that time and prioritised other aspects of islam. I didn't even understand the full extent of this

After my degree I was a bit pressured by family to apply for a masters which I also did and I'm studying that now. Insha Allah I am leaving to go back home next month.

My main concern now is will any future job I may hold Insha Allah ever be a halal earning for me?? Because any job would obviously consider my education qyalifications abroad. And my UK certificates will be held in a much higher regard than any home-education ceritifcates I may recieve. I don't think there are many opportunities for studies back home, although we have a university now, hence why so many parents send even their daughters abroad. Astagfirullah today I can see that this good intention was misplaced.

I am feeling really trapped and I can see now how much culture has deviated from Islam. I am finishing my course this month Insha Allah. How would I go about trying to ensure my earnings are halal?

JazakAllah Khair