/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Washington

Algburne
03-15-2013, 07:01 PM
I'm an IT worker/student from eastern Washington, with an interest in comparative religious studies. I thought I'd sign up here to learn about Islamic customs, practices and philosophy, since I have very little experience with the subject and don't know any Muslims. My religious practices are syncretic.

Also, my username is a contraction of one one my favorite poets. Bonus points to whoever guesses him...

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Periwinkle18
03-15-2013, 07:26 PM
hello
:welcome: to the forum

hmm I guess I dont knw who the poet is :p

Independent
03-15-2013, 07:32 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by Algburne
Also, my username is a contraction of one one my favorite poets. Bonus points to whoever guesses him...
Algernon Swinburne?

Algburne
03-15-2013, 07:34 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by Independent
Algernon Swinburne?
We have a winner.

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Independent
03-15-2013, 07:35 PM
We have a winner.
An unusual choice. He's fallen out of fashion.

Algburne
03-15-2013, 07:39 PM
An unusual choice. He's fallen out of fashion.
Guilty pleasure. I love regular rhyme schemes and meter, and he is pretty much perfect on both counts. I mostly stick to Romantic and Decadent poetry anyway, so there is that too.

Independent
03-15-2013, 07:45 PM
I mostly stick to Romantic and Decadent poetry
I'm with you on the Romantics first generation - Blake, Wordsworth, Coleridge.

Algburne
03-15-2013, 07:54 PM
I'm with you on the Romantics first generation - Blake, Wordsworth, Coleridge.