/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Study of Canadian Muslims and Perspectives on Dogs

JohanneH
05-30-2013, 01:04 AM
Hello Islamic Board, my name is Johanne Horsfall, and I am a Graduate Student at Carleton University in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology. For my Masters Thesis, I am studying the different ways in which Canadians perceive dogs. In particular, I am intrigued by the perspectives of Canadian Muslims. The “mainstream” attitude towards dogs in Canada appears to be quite positive, as an estimated 32% own one.

One part of this project consists of an online survey that is targeted toward Canadian Muslims. If some of you could fill out this survey, I would greatly appreciate it.

http://fluidsurveys.com/s/canadian-m...ew-of-animals/

I have been reading this forum for a little while, and I am interested in what people have to say about this issue. What is your personal opinion about dogs and dog ownership? Do those of you living in “dog-centric” countries like Canada feel any “conflict?” Are there any legal issues that you feel need to be addressed (i.e. the presence of police dogs at airports and border crossings etc.)?

For those Muslims who own dogs, I am interested in the ways in which you interact with the dog(s). For instance, is the dog kept outside, or in certain rooms? What practices do you engage in to maintain ritual purity? How do your Muslim friends or family react to this? If possible, if those Canadian Muslim dog owners are willing, I would be interested in engaging in email correspondence about additional questions. Please email me at johanne_horsfall@carleton.ca if you wish to participate in a private and confidential “email interview.” However, you are welcome to write about it in this thread too.