/* */

PDA

View Full Version : A teacher who needs guidance...

ClearFracture
08-08-2013, 04:13 AM
I am a public school teacher in the United States. I teach young children and I am interested in learning more about Islam. I have had students who are Islamic and I would like to learn more about this religion so that I might better help my students learn. I believe that when children have the opportunity to share their home life, including holidays, traditions and cultural beliefs with their classmates, they are happier, more connected to the classroom and they can learn with a sense of safety.

I joined this site hoping to learn and also because I had two five year old students last year who are just, or have just, celebrated a major holiday with their families and I wanted to send them each a greeting card. I did not know if it was appropriate to send a card for Ramadan, or for the end of Ramadan.

During the summer, I write back and forth with my students (via snail mail) and I try to acknowledge all major holidays that my students celebrate. This year, (I was told) Ramadan did not happen during the school year. Where some years, we have parents who send in special foods, share special clothing or share traditions with our class, this year, I did not get to connect with my Islamic families in this way. One mom did bring in crescent shaped cookies for snack and her son shared about getting new clothing for a holiday but as it did not coincide with the actual holiday, I felt like these two kids missed out somehow.

In summary, is it appropriate for me to send a greeting at Ramadan? If so, is there anything specific that I need to know about Ramadan? Is the timing important... am I too late?

Thank you for your help.
Sincerely,
Diane

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Muslim Woman
08-08-2013, 04:33 AM
Hello

Welcome here . yap , I m afraid , u are late for this Ramadan and too early for next Ramadan :D