/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Studying Islam and Arabic in the Arab World - ADVICE NEEDED

ibnSyed
08-25-2013, 09:52 AM
Assalmualikum

I am a civil engineer by profession and have been working in the Gulf for about 7 years now. I have been saving for the past couple of years with the aim of finishing my contract period at my job by October and then travelling to Egypt to study full time for 2 to 3 years.

This is what i wanted to do:
1- The Holy Qur’an memorization, Tafseer (explanation), Tajweed.
2- Hadith-memorization and introduction to Hadith Sciences.
3- Conversation, development of linguistic skills, phonetics, syntax, morphology, rhetoric.
4- Islamic Jurisprudence (Fiqh).
5- Aqueedah (Islamic Belief).

Now, that my contract is coming to an end and with the political situation in both Egypt and Syria, i am unable to travel there. I have been warned off against Yemen and Sudan, i cannot get into a Saudi University because they don't seem to accept student over 23 (at least from my online research) and i am 30 now. Most of the other Gulf countries only cater for colloquial Arabic offering a handful of hours a week and are also relatively expensive to live if one is not working.

I was wondering if anyone had any insight or advice to offer?

jzkAk

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
aqeel al trini
08-28-2013, 11:42 AM
Walaykum assalaamu

I have looked at Qatar they have a good classical arabic program for non arabic speakers. As well as Jordan. Do some more research brother. Even though you are thirty there is still options especially if you are willing to put your money where your mouth his.

However my advice is purify your intention for studying the religion with Allah azza wa jalla and make truck loads of dua for it being easy to get teachers who will benefit you, making your stdies easier, purifying your character, ease and tawfeeq in implementing what you learn....as i said truck loads of dua.