/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hello All!

geoffopotamus
04-07-2014, 02:54 PM
Hi,

I am a Non-Muslim American photography student currently living in Boston. I have never practiced Islam however I was raised as a Unitarian Universalist (I do not currently identify as any religion) and part of my religious curriculum when I was growing up was to learn about world religions from people who practice the religion. So when I was still young I did things like learn about the Quran and visit some Mosques to glean a general understanding of what it meant to be Islamic. I have also in my studies at art school taken a few Islamic art classes that have worked to inform me a little about the way artists are working around this subject.

I joined the forum today because I am working with a Muslim woman in the area on a photography project and I would like some input from people here on the forum. We are creating a photo series aimed at confronting the way mainstream American media imposes a distorted view of Islam on those who practice it here in the states. To accomplish this I will be projecting text onto her that represents the negative stereotypes that are pervasive in our culture. In doing this I will be literally super imposing these falsities onto her so that I can capture her interacting with them visually. However, in order to give more credibility to the project I need the text to be quotes or article headlines from people in popular media. I am doing my own research right now trying to hunt down inflammatory remarks or articles headlines but I am not having very much success. So I thought I could reach out to people in the Islamic community for help. It would really help me out if you here on the forum could help me find these quotes and articles. Even if you just point me towards an article or news piece that you found particularly upsetting.

Thanks in advance

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Muslim Woman
04-07-2014, 03:35 PM
Hello