/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Telling friends you don't like them.

kidfood
08-23-2014, 02:35 AM
Hi, I am a freshman at high school and recently I told my former friend that I don't like him as a friend anymore. I told him in a somewhat harsh and unpleasing way (unintentionally, of course) but I wanted to get my message across. He and I were kinda good friends, but I later realized I simply don't like spending time with him. I put a lot of thought into it, what I should say, when I should say it, and if I am doing this for the right reasons. So, at a football game with our group of friends that both of us hang out with, I told him, quote, " To be honest, I don't like you". I couldn't do this with a straight face and I was laughing as well as my other friends. Other friends in the same group also didn't like him but I felt I should take the initiative since I hate being dishonest with him. I realize now that I told him so disrespectfully and made it so disrespectful. I feel so bad right now and I thought about Allah. The main reason I told him upfront and just said it in plain context because he takes everything as a joke and I wanted it to be clear. Also, if someone told me the same thing in the same situation, I wouldn't care, knowing I have Allah with me at all costs. The reason I thought about Allah afterwards because I was wondering if I did the right thing. I felt before I told him, I was backbiting a little and wanted to end it. I also was nice to him so I didn't want to be a total jerk. I couldn't handle it and it just came out. I didn't know how else to do it, and I only feel guilt, but I don't regret my decision I just wish I did it another way.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
greenhill
08-23-2014, 02:53 AM
Salaam to you.

Welcome to the forum. I see that this is your first post and it usually is for introduction to 'self'.