/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Islam From an Atheist

zallzool
09-21-2014, 02:36 AM
So I am a 17 year old student currently living in the US. I was born Jewish, but as time went on I became less religious to the point where I am essentially atheist. I don't really believe in any God or higher power, I haven't for years.

That being said, I have looked at the three major monotheistic religions (Christianity, Judaism, and Islam), and out of all of them Islam has stuck out a little in the sense that it seems more reasonable to a degree than the other two. I did some research and watched this person named Dr. Zakir Naik, and have learned a little about the religion. I also have many Muslim friends who have told me a lot about various aspects of Muslim culture and belief. Taking all of these together, I have a couple questions about Islam and religion in general.

1. I have heard from people and read in the Quran that Islam teaches that before people are born, they are given the choice of being an angel or a person. Angels have no free will, and humans have the ability to choose their own decisions. (This topic was discussed in a video I watched featuring a Muslim preacher called Dr. Zakir Naik. If you chose free will, you are sent to earth where your faith is tested. I have thought about this concept even before I knew that it was incorporated into Islam, and wondered if that was perhaps the reason that consciousness/ the universe even exists. Perhaps there is a higher power that is creating the human experience for a purpose. I think that the fact that this is part of Islam is what drew my curiosity initially.