/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Greetings!

KhalilGr
03-04-2015, 09:33 AM
Good day, I'm Khalil, a 16 years old back-end programmer and an Atheist. I reside in a north African kingdom, called Morocco. Most of my free time is filled by reading technology related news; programming; religious and historical research and writing.

To those who read this thread and wonder whether I was brought up as an Atheist or not, I was not brought up an Atheist, I was both brought up and raised a Muslim, and I later left Islam to become an Atheist. Why? Well, to say the least, while growing up, I never had much friends, so I spent much of my time indoors reading, watching documentaries and cultivating myself. I read the Quran more times than I can remember, and later researched it more to comprehend it, I read different religious books including the Bible and the only few translated parts of the Torah that I could get my hands on in our national libraries, so it is safe to say that I studied all three Abrahamic religions. I do not only take interest in those three religions, but also in several other religions and belief systems. So, after researching and understanding the religion I was brought up to, I began to despise it (I'm not sure if that's the correct term to describe my feelings towards Islam, but I believe it's most close).

Even though I became an Atheist at the age of 14, I never told anybody, as publicly claiming my Atheism would not only get my parents to disown me, but in this country, it could also get me some time in jail, if not a lifetime prison sentence without a chance of giving me time to apply for a political asylum in a foreign country to run for my life. So, I kept it a secret to date.

I hope this community doesn't freak out at me for being an Atheist, as I am eager to make new friends, no matter their beliefs. :)

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
sister herb
03-04-2015, 09:49 AM
Greeting to you