/* */

PDA

View Full Version : most awkward moment around a non Muslim?

BilalKid
11-26-2015, 12:22 AM
my feet in sink at school toilet ;D

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Search
11-26-2015, 12:40 AM
:bism:

:sl:

So, I'm a legal intern and have the privilege from time to time attend courthouse proceedings and also litigate cases.

Most awkward moment:

I was once praying in a private room with the permission of the person in charge at the courthouse; since it was a 4-rakat salat, I was into the prayer and didn't hear any noise when the room opened. One court officer walked in from behind without my knowledge or awareness, and another officer walked in front from another door. Since you're not supposed to converse with anyone during salat, I knew I couldn't respond to their question and yet I was afraid because I didn't know what they would think. Just in time though, I realized that the officer coming in from the front inadvertently broke my salat because there wasn't any barrier and anyone walking in front breaks your salat as per fiqh of salat (Islamic divine regulation of prayer). So, they asked me what I was doing, and I explained to them that I was praying.

The officers were suspicious and told me that they needed me to verify myself as a legal intern; so, I took them to the place where I'd kept my belongings (the attorneys' area of the courthouse) and showed them my I.D. They apologized, and the male officer commented that no one had told them. I was a little tearful, although I had on a brave face. Then, the person in charge found out that this happened and apologized to me and said that I should tell her if anything like this happens again and she will "beat them up for me." Since she's a robust yet old black woman, I laughed at her words and thanked her because I was touched by her show of support.