/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hijab Isn't For Perfect People

noraina
05-29-2016, 04:10 PM
Assalamu Alaykum,

Yasmin Mogahed posted this on her Facebook a few days ago. This is something that has been on my mind for a long time - I know I write novels for posts

so I'll just say I agree with this 100%.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay. There is an issue surrounding hijab that I have been observing for many years. And it was finally time to write about it…

So I really hate being lied to. I suppose that’s why it makes me so angry to see the widespread deception caused by shaytan. There is this subtle deceptive tool becoming sooo pervasive—even among practicing people. And I’ve noticed how it plays out with hijab. Okay, before I get into how this trick works, let’s begin with the foundation:

#1. We are on a journey.

#2. Pleasing God is the destination.

#3. Obedience to God is the fuel.

Okay, now watch how this trick works. Shaytan says:

Step 1: “Hijab is a high spiritual *destination*. It is a ‘crown’ you wear once you’ve reached spiritual enlightenment/perfection.”

Step 2: “You aren’t there yet, spiritually.”

Step 3: “Therefore, you shouldn’t wear hijab until you first reach that level of spiritual enlightenment/perfection.” OR “If you already wear hijab, you aren’t at that spiritual level and you aren’t representing Islam well, so you should take it off until you can reach that level.”

Why this is a lie and a logical fallacy:

1. Hijab is NOT a crown you wear once you’ve reached spiritual enlightenment/perfection. Hijab is NOT a spiritual destination. Hijab is *part of the fuel (obedience)* to get there! It is part of the path to get to the destination: God.