/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Inter-Cultural marriage and being judged!

brooke_eve
06-04-2016, 12:49 AM
Salaam Alaikum!
I am a Hispanic American convert as of one year this month, but have been learning about Islam for three years now alhamdulillah. I am currently speaking to this Palestinian American man who has every quality you would want in a husband and he feels the same vice versa we have kept ourselves halal and both graduated college ready to take the next step but unfortunately people in his family do not approve because I am a convert and a huge "risk" to be married to. It has brought me to tears multiple times because I know my intentions and they are all good! I am not sure how to convince his dad that I am not like other American girls.
My background is I was raised in a very strict Christian household. Never have i drank, smoked, did drugs or had inappropriate relations with a male and that is something I am so very proud of. I just feel like I am being judged without them even knowing me. Should I talk to his dad and tell him about who I am in hopes of changing his mind? If his family had issues with me that were actually haram I would understand, but I cannot help the way Allah brought me into this world, but I can change how I leave this world alhamdulillah. I'm at a loss right now of what to do. Any advice would be appreciated, shukran!!!

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
al-Andalusi
06-04-2016, 09:38 AM