/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hello

jabeady
06-05-2016, 08:48 PM
I am a white male, raised a fundamentalist Lutheran, but now I am an atheist. I prefer to call myself an Unbeliever because "atheist" is beginning to take on a meaning that I don't want to be associated with.
I came looking for an Islamic forum because I have managed to live more than 66 years without ever meeting any followers of Islam . To my memory, by the time I graduated high school I had met one Roman Catholic, two Jews, one Chinese-American and one African-American. Otherwise, everyone in my world was White, Anglo-Saxon and Protestant. This, in one of the major industrial cities of America. Things improved when I enlisted and began to meet all kinds of ethnicities. Even then, however, no Muslims. Then came 9/11. At the time, I was living in Vermont, the whitest state in the nation. The Internet was becoming a major social presence, and I began to learn how perfectly sane people can turn into raving lunatics in times of crisis. Example, a friend of my mother forwarded to everyone in her address book an email that claimed to quote Surah 9, verse 11 (get it? 9/11), to the effect that the faithful would regret attacking "the Eagle." I did some Googling, found out what Surah 9, verse 11 actually said, and wrote back to her telling her exactly what I thought. My mother never heard from her friend again. Then I lost a few friends of my own when it seemed like I was the only one I knew who refused to hold all Muslims responsible for the acts of a comparative few. I really hate bigotry. Even now, 15 years later, I still run into idiots who want to know why Muslims haven't denounced terrorism, and refuse to believe me when I tell them the Council on American-Islamic Relations and other major Muslim organizations have done just that. When I point out that the terrorists have killed thousands more Muslims than non-Muslims, they often reply with "Serves them right." To be fair, however, I pay attention to