/* */

PDA

View Full Version : College Admissions

silverdreamer01
07-17-2016, 09:21 PM
Assalamu-alaikum!!

I'm a high school student and have really big dreams and ambitions. One of my most important goals is to get into Stanford University, which has been my dream for a very, very long time. I'm working pretty hard in order to achieve this, but still, it's very hard. Stanford is the most competitive school in the US to get into and a bit of "luck" is required to get in even if you're a top-of-the-line student. All of my classmates are tutored in various subjects, have internships that their parents somehow got them, and have tons of extracurriculars. My family can't afford any of those things, so I'm at a disadvantage.

I run track, but my mile time is 7:18 (very, very bad). It should be somewhere around 5 minutes to be competitive. I want to improve it so badly, but I'm not sure how (since there's a point where improvement gets extremely difficult or even physically impossible). I'm also trying to innovate/invent some product that could actually help people. I can't think of any good ideas though. And finally, I go to a very hard school and keeping my grades at perfect As is extremely difficult (I already got 3 A-s). The exams I need to take for college, such as the SAT and ACT, require almost perfect scores in order to earn admission into my dream school.

In summary, I need du'as and help with these things:

-Improving my mile time to 5 minutes or less
-Coming up with ideas for innovation
-Doing very well on exams (SAT, ACT, APs, normal class exams, etc)
-Most important: getting into Stanford