/* */

PDA

View Full Version : The Hijab.

Islamia2k
08-12-2016, 06:25 AM
Salamualakum!
I've been wearing the hijab for 3 years now. Yet I quite don't understand who we can take it off with and with who we keep it on. I know that I don't need to wear the hijab in front of my father, brothers, uncles and future husband and kids (inshAllah). Do I wear it in front of my cousins too? Aren't they like blood related to me, which then I don't wear it? Because back in my country, my father's family lives together in one house. Which means a lot of cousins live there too. Their ages range from my age to new borns. Whenever I visit, I take the hijab off in front of them. Recently my mom's told me that I need to wear it in front of cousins as well. How am I supposed to do that?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
noraina
08-12-2016, 10:55 AM
Wa alaykum assalam,

Cousins are not your mahrams ukhti, that's why we have to observe hijab in front of them. If you have male cousins who are in their teens or above, then yes hijab is required - they are blood relations but marriage to them is also possible. Once my uncle and his sons came to visit - while I didn't have to wear hijab in front of my uncle (dad's brother) I did in front of them, it's not so bad wearing your hijab in the house if you have to.

This is a really detailed response (this issue used to confuse me too).

https://islamqa.info/en/5538

Steven Caro
08-12-2016, 12:03 PM
Forgive me for deviating sightly but does it even say you have to wear it in the Quran? This is from the surah referring to this...'And tell the believing women to reduce [some] of their vision and guard their private parts and not expose their adornment except that which [necessarily] appears thereof and to wrap [a portion of] their headcovers over their chests and not expose their adornment...'