/* */

PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to thist

Sophia_789
09-19-2016, 09:13 PM
Hi all! And assalamu alaikum. I'm new to this. To internet forums and online communities. But am not new to Islam. I come from a muslim family, although we are not the most religious - what exactly does that phrase mean nowadays? I am at a stage in my life where I am a grown up but I'm still not fully there yet - accomplished, successful, ready to marry etc. I have had a rough patch recently. Well. For the last four years now. Mental illness hit me quite hard and was very traumatic for my family and myself. Shukhur alhumdulillah it is a lot better now, thanks to medication.

This experience has made me think and evaluate my life, what I like, what I don't like, my values, principles and ethics. Now. Being honest here, I am fairly laid back when it comes to things like religion and following a faith, I would always say I was a very liberal muslim. Although I was not haraam, I did not not drink (regularly) or consume pork based products. Some things I have done but I don't know if I should tell you those things yet. I feel like I am at a new starting point in my life. I am attending job interviews, hopefully to land an apprenticeship and proceed further from there. What I am hoping to gain from this forum is a safe and supportive community to be a part of, and I hope I can contribute well also.

Thank you for reading, Sophia

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Scimitar
09-19-2016, 09:18 PM
Walakum salaam,

welcome to IB FORUM,

its a jungle in here, but it's ours :)

Scimi

Little_Lion
09-19-2016, 09:30 PM
Asalaam aleikum, sister! Welcome and enjoy your stay, insha'Allah! :statisfie

Sophia_789
09-19-2016, 09:35 PM
Hey!! Lol I like that. Wise words from the Little Lion!

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.