/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Coping with Riba

sister_39738
10-21-2016, 03:54 AM
First I want to start by asking why you have to post so many threads before becoming a full member? Also, I cant send private messages even though I receive them. I'm afraid that people might think I am rude for not responding.

Anyway the last two years that I have been in college have been a financial and emotional strain.I was hospitalized twice and both during finals. That brought my gpa down. Then my university had financial cutbacks and raised their prices while taking away a scholarship and grant. The surplus from my grants and scholarships (plus a loan I took out before Islam) is what I used to support myself since I am an independent student and my family cant help me at all (not even with a place to live). I'm working but not enough to pay the rent on the 1st of every month. Then Allah tested me again when I didn't get a job that would pay $11 an hour, $3 more than what I'm making now with more hours. I couldn't get it because training is during class time. Then my cellphone broke today and I didn't have enough money to replace it. So today I signed up for a interest based loan to help with rent until I find a second job and replace my cell and buy toiletries.

I felt so bad because I know that riba is the only sin that will make Allah and his prophet go to war against you. I don't want to go up against Allah in war because I know I will lose. I love Allah and his prophets. He brought me a gift (islam) that has been the only light in this bleak life I have had. I know I don't show it sometimes but I am nothing without him.