/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a new member

Saul Silas Fath
01-24-2017, 11:00 PM
Hello all, my name is Saul Silas Fathi. I am an author and lecturer and have written 3 books on Islam: Islamic Leaders, Glossary of Arabic Terms, Arab-Islamic Groups and Organization. For those who may be interested in finding out more about my work, there is substantial information on my website: www.saulsilasfathi.com

About me:
I was born to a prominent Jewish family in Baghdad, Iraq. At age 10, my younger brother and I were smuggled out of Baghdad through Iran and eventually reached the newly-found State of Israel. I began writing my diary at age 11.

I enrolled in the Israel Air force Academy of Aeronautics, a 4-year program, where I earned my High-School diploma and became certified in Electrical Engineering. In 1958 I worked my way to Brazil where I nearly starved. Through perseverance and luck, I stated my own electrical business and earned a patent for climate-controlled windows, used in the building of the new capital, Brasilia.

In 1960 I came to the United States on a student visa, studying sculpture at the Brooklyn Museum of Art, and American history and public speech at the New School of Social Studies in New York. After 8 months, I volunteered to serve 3 years in the U.S. Army having been promised college education and U.S. citizenship. After basic training in Fort Benning, Georgia, I was sent to helicopter school at Fort Bragg, North Carolina and enrolled at the University Of Virginia. Within a few months I was shipped to South Korea where I served as Chief Electrical Technician with the 1st Cavalry Division, 15th Aviation Company, the famed helicopter division in the Vietnam War.