/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Changing careers

anonymous
02-06-2017, 10:59 AM
Salam

I was wondering how many of you had changed careers during later parts of your life. I'm in my 30s and am getting tired of what I currently do. What got me into it was the fact that I get to work alone most of the time but it's physically demanding and my body is taking a beating. The hours and the long distance driving is also not helping. Although I have no experience in it, I thought about doing a complete 180 and going into the IT field, possibly programming, as that requires no physical work; well compared to what I do now anyways and from what I understand, there's a lot of alone time. Being in my mid 30s though, I wonder when it starts becoming too late to make these types of decisions, so I just wanted to see if anyone here has gone through this experience before.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
sister herb
02-06-2017, 01:50 PM
It´s never too late to change your life and profession. Well, maybe then when you will retire soon but you are still young as you have about 30 years to work or more. I am 50 and I am looking for new career with nursing. Before I worked with IT business, then as teacher and now nursing seems to be my the next option. Or something else.

aaj
02-06-2017, 03:21 PM
:wasalam:

It's normal to change careers and most do it at least once in their life time. I"ve done it a few times. You have to keep an open mind. And programming is one of the best fields to get into. There's a shortage and entry into the industry does not have much barriers. Check out code academy, that's a good place to start and here's a good advice for new comers.

https://www.codeproject.com/articles...er-programming

noraina
02-06-2017, 04:00 PM
Wa alaykum assalam,

It is never too late to decide to do something you are passionate about or gives you satisfaction, so don't ever let those feelings hold you back.