/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Wearing hijab/abaya at university

nk1997
02-11-2017, 09:50 PM
Assalamualaikum,

I'm a second year student at Lancaster university. Alhamdulillah in the past few months I've really gotten in touch with religion, and to be honest in all my time at uni I've never felt more at peace! All this time I've spent uncomfortable in the dark, if only I'd known it was as easy as accepting Islam.. Well I am trying to better myself as much as I can, but I have run into many obstacles. The one I detail below is quite a dilemma that I've been thinking over for a long time now.

After giving it a lot of thought I've decided that I want to wear hijab and abaya, but I am very scared of the reaction I would get.

A bit of back story: before these last few months I was never even close to religious - I mean I was the drinking, smoking, constantly going out type of person. My family are quite loose with religion as well, and they don't know about any of this but obviously I know they'd be happy to see me happy.

It's my friends that I'm worried about :/ The thing is, all of my friends know me as the person that's up for partying every week and all.. they have seen me pray a few times recently and I think that they think I don't drink anymore because I'm too busy with uni work, and I don't have the heart to correct them because I'm scared they might look at me differently. I know they're my friends and they'll love me no matter what but it's obvious that there will be a kind of distance/barrier when I no longer go out with them, I'm the only one in the group that wears a scarf, I take breaks to pray etc. Essentially my friendships are built based on a character that I want to get rid of.