/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Desperate Career Advice

ahmed57
07-09-2017, 07:01 PM
As Salamu alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.
I signed up on this forum desperate for opinions and for help. Here's my sticky situation in a nutshell.
I'm an engineering graduate very recently out of college. I got a job at one of the big four audit, accounting, and advisory firms as an Associate Software Engineer. Coming to the part I'm very doubtful and apprehensive about, this job could involve me working in one of banking, insurance or wealth management domains. And since all these are finance related, I'm pretty sure there's going to some sort of riba related activity to it. And thus, I'm very apprehensive of taking up the job. I can't risk my income being haram. Just the thought of that makes me shudder.
Until a few days back, I had no other alternative or a different job I could take up. So, I was planning on working there for about an year, gain some experience and in sha Allah move to an Islamic country and hopefully find a halal source of income. Lots of ifs and buts there.
I've been praying hard that Allah helps me find a job where my earning would be halal.
And, Alhamdulillah, I recently went to a local Madrasa and looked at what all they do. And to my surprise, not only do they teach the kids Quran, memorisation and all that, they impart very good worldly education as well, and they have some really good projects they plan on undertaking very soon. We talked quite a bit and they happened to mention that they would love to have an engineer join their team. I said I'd be delighted to join them.
Here's what's bugging me now, if I do join, I'd probably not be working on anything that would help in the future if I have to work elsewhere. And the pay, it's significantly lesser that what I'd be earning at the advisory I mentioned.

What do I do, any advice would be gladly welcome.
Jazakallahu khairan in advance.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts