/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Please pray for me

anonymous
07-27-2017, 02:36 PM
Please make this post anonymous.

Assalamu alaykum,

I feel really upset lately and do not know what to do. I finished my degree a year ago and this year I wanted to take a break and get married because I felt it's the best time for me as I want to further my education and I would not have time afterwards.

I advised my parents to look for someone while I was studying but they couldn't find anyone suitable as they do not have the time nor are they very social. Meanwhile, I knew this brother for a long who expressed marriage. I didn't say anything to him until I was sure that my parents would not be able to find anyone else. I waited for a year for my parents to find someone while advising the brother to bring his proposal forward too. However, with my parents being a little traditional about marriages, I was too scared to tell my parents about this brother initially myself. Eventually, I advised the brother to go see my father. My family did not know that we knew each other from before. They eventually found out and were accepting.

However, recently a new proposal has come by chance to my parents. The brother is supposedly very well educated and comes from a very religious background. The initial brother is still studying, in his final year and we have somewhat of an understanding between us.

I personally do not know what to make of this situation. I feel that the new proposal that's comes forward by chance has maybe been put forward by Allah as some sort of a test. I therefore do not feel that I should reject it without a reason. I also feel wrong rejecting the initial brother just because a better options come forward. I've asked my parents to meet both the families and the brothers and help me make a decision but they do not know themselves either.