/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Relationship with Non-Muslim + responsibilities of becoming a stepdad

spiderman2k1
08-07-2017, 04:47 AM
Salam!
I hope this message finds you in good health!

I am a Muslim by birth. Although I do not engage in any haram type activities, I do not consider myself a devout Muslim as in I do not pray 5 times a day nor do I attend Friday prayers or even fast all the days during Ramadan. I am currently in my 3rd year of medical school and I always told myself that when I got my academic life on track, I would start on my spiritual life. As I begun my deep understanding and devotion to Islam, I met a woman through Reddit. She is Mormon but she is looking to convert. I met her through the website where we would talk casually and about Islam. Fast forward many months, we grew very fond of each other. We had many similar past experiences and we have many similar outlooks on life. She is very sincere about living a rightful life and becoming a Muslim. I think because of how I feel about her, it makes me want to become a better person and a better Muslim. Her eagerness to learn about Islam, her dedication to learning about Islam has sparked an interest and dedication in myself as well.

We have met in person and it was an amazing experience. We had a "no hands on" rule to make sure we had no "urges." We got along very well and it felt as if we had known each other for many years!

It has come to that time where she would like me to meet her two boys: ages 7 and 12. I have spoken to these boys on the phone and they were very respectful of what I am in school for, my religion, expressed great interest in my hobbies of gaming/fitness and overall, they were very well-behaved!

My "fear" lies in the fact about what my duties are as a stepdad and more important, as a Muslim. Due a Mormon rule, her boys will be raised as Mormon. Should I consider this an issue? She is fine with raising any children WE have as Muslim.