/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Parents not agreeing to selection of spouse

hk92
10-24-2017, 06:09 PM
Asalamualkium all, I hope your well.
I just need some advice regarding my present situation. I have known this girl for roughly 5 years through which in terms of what I see would make an ideal wife for me. She is a very good friend of mine. Alhamdouillah she is very strict in her prayers, she is very family orientated and has a very clear character. I have met her and her family on a couple of occasions, as they don’t live in the same country, so you can say it’s been a long distance sort of situation. Currently I’m 25, I have a degree, I am in a stable position career wise and I am at that point in my life where I am just ready for marriage and the next chapter of life so to speak. I have told my parents regarding this girl, they have spoken on the phone to her mother ( her father has passed away couple years ago). But they think that due to her family background ( they don’t speak to their extended family), her status career wise ( as her father passed away whilst she was young, she along with her siblings have had to work from an early age. She has a degree but still wants to do further study to improve her career. My parents think that she is not a good match for me due to these issues. I have tried explaining to them that these are just worldly things which particularly in certain cultures praise more hold than the Islamic side of things