/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Nursing and caring for Muslims

kenkarlis
11-11-2017, 11:51 PM
I have a few questions that I would love to get some answers for from the Muslim community.

I am a male registered nurse in San Francisco and I would love some honest answers to these questions.

1) What advice would you give a male RN who is about to care for a member of the Muslim community?
2) How do Muslims generally feel about their daily life in the United States today, given the political circumstances and the current administration that is leading our country?
3) What are a few things that Muslims in the United States wish were different? Just anything…

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
*charisma*
11-12-2017, 06:53 AM
Hi @kenkarlis

format_quote Originally Posted by kenkarlis
1) What advice would you give a male RN who is about to care for a member of the Muslim community?
Muslim women are generally more comfortable with female staff when it comes to having to uncover or getting examined. While hospitals can accommodate, I can understand when it may not be possible. In such cases, I would suggest that male RN's are sensitive and try to help the woman maintain the her modesty. For example, unless otherwise necessary, uncovering the affected areas for examination/treatment instead of undressing completely will exemplify your respect towards the woman's beliefs.

2) How do Muslims generally feel about their daily life in the United States today, given the political circumstances and the current administration that is leading our country?