Originally Posted by cinnamonrolls1
The fortune cookies would only be regarded Haraam if :
a) The paper in itself releases a substance into the cookie that has a haraam ingredient. Even if the paper itself has a haraam element to it chemically the fact that it is attached to the cookie will nullify the cookie and make it haraam.
b) A person reads the fortune cookie (Despite the intent) : There is a Hadith that indicates that to even consider or enquire from Soothsayers in jest is Haraam.
A person who purchases the fortune cookie and throws away the paper - That won't be Haraam as he/she is dispensing of the paper immediately.
Note: If someone where to consider that the fortune cookie becomes Haraam just based on the fact of the paper inside - then that would mean we would have to equally investigate the outside wrapping and logos, pictures Etc of nearly every product in the world. In other words - a Halaal chocolate with a wrapping of a say a Mans picture on it will equally have to be considered Haraam. That will then mean most products in the world will become Haraam based on that principle.
Juridically Yes you can eat it
Frome a point of Taqwa - dont eat based on the fact that you could fall prey to the fortune telling paper.