/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Trying to be as Accomodating as possible :)

Roommate
11-26-2018, 04:33 PM
Hi everyone :)

I am a male Canadian University student who is not of Islamic faith. I am currently living with two other University students, and recently realized that some of my behaviour's may make one of my roommates uncomfortable, which led me to realize that I do not know much about Islam at all! I am just writing to you all to see what steps I can take to make my roommate as comfortable as possible, and what is and is not acceptable.

I am a gay male, so I previously did not see an issue with walking to/from my bedroom and shower in just a towel (I have female roommates). Is this okay? or should I be wearing a bathrobe/something that covers my body more? I also regularly drink alcohol with meals and on weekends. I know that drinking alcohol is discouraged, so is it rude of me to drink it in the same room as her? or should I not drink in the house at all.

Please give me any tips that you would recommend to a young, gay, university student who parties fairly regularly as to how I can make my roommate feel as comfortable as possible. Any tips/pointers are welcome, thank you :-)

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
AabiruSabeel
11-26-2018, 08:45 PM
Hi and welcome to IslamicBoard.

Thanks for your concern, we appreciate your thoughtfulness. Islamically, unrelated boys and girls shouldn't be staying in the same house. Modesty is greatly emphasized in Islam. So wearing a bath robe and covering yourself fully is highly recommended.

Same goes for alcohol, it is forbidden in Islam. It is harmful for the body, mind and soul.

Ideally, Muslim students should move out and try to stay together somewhere else. Otherwise, peer pressure and cultural differences can have a negative impact on their faith. Unless they are themselves firmly grounded and involved in Dawah, it will not be easy for them to uphold their Religious commitments.

Roommate