/* */

PDA

View Full Version : What do I do about frequent paranoid thoughts?

peacefulone
12-17-2018, 02:28 PM
Assalamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu
I have an embarassing affliction that I do have treatment for but it doesn't work very well all the time. I have had this problem all my life. Since I was a child I have fought with people over this thing. It is something that just happens in my mind and I can't stop it. I get paranoid over things out of the blue, mostly with people I care about or love, like my friends and family. I have tried medications...the only thing that calms my mind is prayer but I can't pray constantly or I would get nothing done.
I have been in the hospital but doctors always have hard times finding a diagnosis because I am very highly functional. I can work and I can complete courses at university.
But a vicious cycle starts than paranoia creeps in. I will be working and getting along then I will be taking on responsabilities and get tired. But I can't avoid work. I have to work because even what money they give you on disability pensions is not enough to cover a life of normal expenses. So I will work and save a lot of money but the work slowly makes me tired and stressed then I get irritable and paranoid that people are against me. then I quit because I let everyone think I'm crazy and nobody wants to be around me that it causes depression. Then I am off work until I run out of money again and have to find again another job. This cycle has continued for decades. I am fearful that these relapses into depression and paranoia will ruin my brain.
Im really a hard working person. I do not believe in doing nothing in life. I am in university to study computers but it will be 4 years from now until I'm qualified to work in this field.
I really want to find a solution that works from Quran and sunnah. As I believe Allah swt sends a cure for every illness.
Let me know your best solutions...
Jazak Allah Khayrain
Lisa