/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Use of Drugs to Treat Depression

illwait
03-28-2019, 02:19 AM
I am currently a college student that has been diagnosed with severe depression (by a psychiatrist) and he wanted to prescribe me medicine. From all the Hadiths I have read The Prophet PBUH said," All intoxicants are khamr and all khamr is haram." In my case the doctor wants to prescribe me drugs that would lead to detrimental effects such as addiction, drowsiness, impotence, and tremors. The side effects are almost the same for all the anti-depressants, the doctor has also recommended a second option: taking a psychedelic substance in order to cure it, he specifically recommended Mushrooms. He said they do not cause any physiological harm, and no psychological harm in 99% of the cases. I have been considering the latter from my doctor's recommendation, and have been doing my own research as well, because information is limited. The studies have shown that they cured depression in majority of the individuals who have taken the substance. The effects are similar if you micro dose the substance in comparison to taking a whole dose. Since the micro dose does not cause "intoxication" is it permissible to take it, and if it does not work is it permissible to take a full dose per the doctors recommendation. The doctor cannot prescribe it for obvious reasons, but he recommends it over the other substances that cause addiction and physiological dependance and issues. Is this permissible if it not for recreational use, but rather for true medical use

Thanks

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Eric H
03-28-2019, 11:04 AM
Greetings and peace be with you illwait and welcome to the forum;