/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Istishara from elder members/mods on career, major, marriage

SintoDinto
04-10-2020, 08:50 PM
I am 21. As some of the mods may know, I have been obsessing over girls/women since I was a very small child. But that aside, that plays a minor role in the discussion, the main topic is majors. I am in my third year of college, and it will take me until after my fifth year to graduate. My mother and some friends of family have already made suggestion(s)/promises for matchmaking. I was going to major in economics since I was so obsessed with finding a job quickly rather than going to graduate school and being poor, and not providing for my family, that I chose the technical, yet social scientific route. But here lies the dilemma: most of the jobs involve riba. I downplayed it, saying there are plenty of jobs that wouldn't require, but they are few, and far between, and mostly just tech analyst jobs where econ majors are sought after, but the most sought after are computer science majors. (or math majors). I even had a dream that I interpreted as being a warning to the dangers of riba and the path I was headed towards due to the corresponding quranic verse and words and phrases involved in the dream (not gonna name, dont want readers to dwell on dream interpretation). I already did istikhara years ago, and I have a bad feeling. I was considering sociology, and reconsidered it again at around the same time I started having feelings again for the girl I did istikhara for (but I did istishara wrong I was warned by elders not to pursue, and I was told by imams you only do istikhara for marriage proposals in the present) which didn't end well and ended in me bawling for days due to her warning me not to text her and that she was more focused on getting her PhD and some other harsh words. She is majoring in sociology. I ended up obsessing again and wanted to, like I wanted to when I wasn't interested in her, go to the graduate school at her uni and