/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Why I can’t make friends.

anonymous
11-22-2020, 02:08 AM
I have come to realise that I can’t make friends. The only people I have in my life are close family and even with them I feel that I lack a real connection.

For a long time, I have believed that I don’t need friends but I feel that this now bothering me.

I am a doctor by profession and at work i’ve noticed that I lack the social skills to build connections with people. I feel like other people find me really awkward sometimes. I am very introverted in nature and get on with my work. The upside of this is that I don’t get into much conflict. I absolutely hate small talk because I find it fake and pointless.

Yet, friends I have had, eventually, have said that I am a wonderful friend. It takes me a while to trust people and due to upbringing (below) have a hard time letting them in.

Tbh I attribute this largely to my upbringing. Growing up, my parents never allowed us to explore/ have any friends because they were “bad influence”. To be frank, people i hung out with in my school were a bad influence so I understand the logic but still. Also, I have, myself, grown up very protected and sheltered, coming to a western country at a young age.

I have realised this feeling since getting married by coming out of my primary social bubble. My husband on the other hand regards friends as centre of everything. He actively takes the time out to go and see his friends. In fact, he has about a bazillion friends. And I have NOT made a single friend for the past five years.

I know I won’t die if i don’t make friends but i thought i’d reflect on it publicly THAT i am a loser.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
*charisma*
11-22-2020, 04:53 AM
Assalamu Alaikum