/* */

PDA

View Full Version : When do Quran and Hadith verses apply?

Eddy
04-03-2021, 01:18 PM
Since I'm relatively new at studying the Quran and the Hadith and I only rely on the internet to do it I'm a bit lost about when are surahs and verses valid.
Some Muslims say the Quran verses are valid at all times but some say that some verses are specific to certain time and place in history and never to be used again.
That is the case with Quran 9:123 when some Muslims bring as context when the verse was revealed and therefore they assume it was meant to be used during that specific battle only.

Recently I brought up Quran 9:123
Sahih International: O you who have believed, fight those adjacent to you of the disbelievers and let them find in you harshness. And know that Allah is with the righteous.
And the Hadith that explains it:
THE PROHIBITION OF TAKING THE IDOLATORS AS SUPPORTERS, EVEN WITH RELATIVES
Allah commands shunning the disbelievers, even if they are one's parents or children, and prohibits taking them as supporters if they choose disbelief instead of faith.
Allah warns,(You will not find any people who believe in Allah and the Last Day, making friendship with those who oppose Allah and His Messenger, even though they were their fathers or their sons or their brothers or their kindred (people).
For such He has written (predetermined) faith in their hearts, and strengthened them with a Ruh (proof, light and true guidance) from Himself. And He will admit them to Gardens (Paradise) under which rivers flow.) (58:22)