/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Dr. Dawkins attacks religion in documentary

sonz
02-07-2006, 01:26 PM
A British zoologist has crossed his limits in a two part documentary on Britain’s Channel Four that argues that religion is “the root of all evil”.

In the program, Professor Richard Dawkins, who was educated at Oxford University and taught zoology at the universities of California and Oxford, said that religion is like an “elephant in the room, ignored by everyone”, claiming that this is a result of “the process of non-thinking.” As usual, his dependence on science in the program was selective despite his use of strong statements such as "I am a scientist and I believe that there is a profound contradiction between science and religious belief" and "there is no well demonstrated reason to believe in God".

Dawkins equated religious education to child abuse and said that children must be protected from the religion of their parents on grounds of “pseudo-psychology“. His theory shows that he failed to acknowledge, perhaps in ignorance of it, that researchers in Oxford have found that children may have a natural tendency to believe in God with or without their parents’ interference.

He also avoided the fact that the failure of the so-called "free-thinkers' prediction" that there would be no religion in the modern world is in itself great evidence of a natural inclination in human beings to believe in God and to seek His guidance.

An article by Dr. Shaikh Riyad Nadwi criticized Dawkins program, saying that greed and unjust politics are the real reasons behind conflicts not schools that teach children to love God and accept His guidance. Shaikh Nadwi says that believers are victimized when greedy politicians hijack religion to expand their powers and exploit the wealth and the property of others.