/* */

PDA

View Full Version : My failure to understand

McCool
02-08-2006, 05:19 AM
Hello,

I want to start this off by saying if you read something I wrote and feel offended by it, it was not my intent. I am not judging rather I am curious due to my failure to understand the circumstances entirely. I understand that some of what I say may be very generalized. As well I realize that most people on this forum are probably rather well educated people. So I guess I am on with what I came here to say:

I am 19 years old; I am a Canadian College student. I was raised in a small town in southern Ontario in a broken Catholic home, however I associate myself to no organized faith. I would say by no means am I literate in the Muslim faith, but I stay very current with global events and I would say that I am an open minded person.

The problem I've been having recently stems from years of 'Muslim' (generalizing, I know) activity to which I do not understand. Of course I am referring to conflict within the Middle East and around the world. Most recently, the response of Muslims to the comic that has come out of Denmark. I have no trouble understanding how many people could take these images to be offensive. I do have a problem understanding the seemingly common Muslim’s response to the release of the comic.

After hearing about the comic’s release I must admit, I found it... funny. Following the news after its release, I take it more serious, almost as if what the comic displayed was truthful. Now before you get mad at me allow me to explain. I've been watching the Muslim response from my community, Canada as a whole, and globally (as best I can) and I must say I am disgusted with how many Muslims are dealing with this situation.