/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Why does the Quran deny Jesus as a son of God ?

davejames2027
02-20-2006, 03:35 PM
Hello,

I am studying Quran. And I sometimes fall upon surahs like :

YUSUFALI: Further, that He may warn those (also) who say, "AlLah hath begotten a son":

This does not agree with the Truth. Even the jinns knew that Jesus (Yahoshua) was a son of God (Mr 3:11)

What does Mohamed mean when it is written that Allah has not begotten a son ?

Thank you,

a puzzled student

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Khaldun
02-20-2006, 03:45 PM
:sl:

Allah has certainly not begotten a son, and the Jinns testify to this;

Say: It has been revealed to me that a party of the jinn listened, and they said: Surely we have heard a wonderful Quran,

Guiding to the right way, so we believe in it, and we will not set up any one with our Lord:

And that He-- exalted be the majesty of our Lord-- has not taken a consort, nor a son:

And that the foolish amongst us used to forge extravagant things against Allah:

And that we thought that men and jinn did not utter a lie against Allah:
[Surah Jinn Ayah 1-5]

If Allah HAD taken a son then it would imply that He had a partner and if you say no to this point then by the other definition we are all the "children" of God

And they say: The Beneficent God has taken (to Himself) a son.

Certainly you have made an abominable assertion

The heavens may almost be rent thereat, and the earth cleave asunder, and the mountains fall down in pieces,

That they ascribe a son to the Beneficent God.

And it is not worthy of the Beneficent God that He should take (to Himself) a son.

There is no one in the heavens and the earth but will come to the Beneficent God as a servant.
[Surah Maryam Ayah 88-93]

davejames2027
02-20-2006, 04:15 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by Khaldun