/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Questions about the Hajj

butterflyhajj
04-18-2005, 05:10 AM
Hello! Thankyou for the opportunity to join your forum! I am a student in my final year of high school, and I am researching the changing nature and role of the Hajj in the Muslim life. I have been interested in Islam for some time and as part of my research I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to hear from Muslim people from around the world about their opinions and experiences of the Hajj. It doesn’t matter whether you have performed the Hajj yet or not, it would be great to hear what you have to say about the following questions or the Hajj in general.

The questions below should take about 5 minutes to answer, depending on how detailed you want to be! Feel free to leave out any of the personal questions if you like- they will just help me to see whether the answers represent all the different types of people in the Muslim community (so please be honest!). Your answers will help me and those who read my final report to understand a little more of what Islam and the Hajj are all about.

If you would like to be involved with further research, can you also let me know? I would love to ask some more questions, particularly about how the Hajj has changed since the early centuries, and any help or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

You may find it useful to copy the questions to your reply and answer them that way.
1)Gender:
2)Age: (please choose from: under 18, 19-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60+)
3)Country of Residence:
4)Country of Birth:
5)Would you consider yourself to be either Sunni or Shi’ite? If yes, please specify which one; or any other school of thought to which you adhere.

6)Do you believe all Muslims should undergo the Hajj at some point? How important is it to perform the Hajj?
7)What do you consider to be the purpose of the Hajj? What would you hope/ intend to achieve by undergoing the Hajj?

8)If you have performed Hajj before: