/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Why They Hate Us So Much: 100 Facts

Protected_Diamond
03-10-2006, 01:59 PM
I was so concerned about this issue that I wrote a book, "Why They Hate Us So Much: 100 Facts About 9/11, Islam, and the Middle East- You Don't Know But Should."

I am a Desert Storm/Desert Shield veteran. During the war I went into Iraq with the XVIII Airborne Corps. Before the war I taught my unit Arabic numerals, basic Arabic, and basic Arabic history. What was most disturbing and at the same time interesting to me was the complete and total lack of knowledge "intelligent" Americans had about Islam and the Middle East. In the almost 15 years since the war- I must say it has gotten worse not better. How is that? How can we be dumber about the region with all of the channels we have in America and the thousands upon thousands of hours that have been dedicated to the Middle East due to the second Iraqi War, the Palestine/Israeli conflict, and 9/11? How can the country ! with the largest college and university system on Earth be that ignorant of a people and place that will absolutely determine both our future as a country and how we live as a people for the rest of the 21st Century?

I have heard all the criticisms that Al Jazeerah is biased. Biased how? Biased because Aljazeerah dares tell the FACTS that are continually day after day not told by American media. (Imagine if Al Jazeerah told the story of the American Revolution but left out George Washington, Valley Forge, and Declaration of Independence?!-that is what the US media does everyday.) For example: