/* */

PDA

View Full Version : One night at farmer's market....!

Ansar Al-'Adl
04-26-2005, 04:54 AM
One Night At Farmer’s Market…
by Ali Ataie

In the Fall of 1998, while I was a student at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, I was approached one night at a Farmers’ Market by an older gentleman who seemed as if he had an extremely pressing matter on his mind. After scanning his eyes quickly over some of the propagation tracts on our table, he started to chuckle upon noticing one tract in specific called Is Jesus Really God? Almost as if waiting for the Holy Spirit to “indwell” within him, he discreetly fixed his glare squarely upon me and began to engage himself in discussion.

First, he motioned with his finger for me to pick up the Arabic/English Yusuf ‘Ali Qur’an that was resting on the table in front of us. “Turn to the beginning of the third sura,” he said. I quickly thumbed through the pages until I got to Chapter 3 entitled Ali Imran, or the Family of Imran, the father of Moses and Aaron. “Read the third verse,” he then said grinning. I recited:

“It is He Who sent down to thee step by step, in truth, the Book, confirming what went before it; and He sent down the Law of Moses and the Gospel of Jesus before this, as a guide to mankind…”

While I read, he reached into his back-pocket and pulled out a mini Bible that he had tucked away for safe keeping and, before I could even finish the verse, he interrupted triumphantly while wagging his book in the air, “Your own scripture says that you must believe in this book, yet you say that the Law of Moses and Gospel of Jesus have been corrupted.”

At this point, other on-lookers had their interest peaked and they stopped to see how I would respond. “You didn’t let me finish the verse,” I complained. “By all means” he responded. I continued:

“…And He sent down the criterion of judgment between right and wrong.”