PDA

View Full Version : Wrigleys Haram & Halal Products Alert!



akulion
05-26-2006, 06:22 PM
Salam Alaikum

In response to a user on our forum who posted an article about how Wrigley products are haram - I decided to write to them and recieved the following reply:

====================================

From:
PR@wrigley.com | Block Address | Add to Contacts
To:
[clip]
Date: 26 May 2006, 09:00:14 PM
Subject: Re: In Response to your Website Comments - Ref # 000159856A

Dear Akbar,
Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products.
To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the
U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy
products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are Extra® Polar Ice
stick gum and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.
Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads encased
in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the
development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by
our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use shellac as a
coating agent.
The different varieties of our ALTOIDS mints do contain very small quantities
of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to
ALTOIDS, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When we
use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing
process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin,
but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the
same quality you've come to love with ALTOIDS.
Our LifeSaver gummies do contain small quantities of gelatin, which is also
derived from pork. It follows the same drying and purifying process as with the
Altoids.
If your diet does not allow you to consume animal byproducts such as dairy, our
CremeSaver line does contain cream, which is a dairy byproduct. On the same
note, our LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver gummies are produced on the same line
as our CremeSavers, so there is a chance of cross contamination. Our CremeSaver
soft chews also contain a small amount of gelatin, which is pork based.
We hope this information has been helpful and thanks again for contacting the
Wrigley Company.
Sincerely,
Ryné King
Consumer Affairs Representative

============================================


Therefore according to the info above the following products of theirs are Haram:

Extra® Polar Ice Stick Gum
Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.
Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint
Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums
ALTOIDS mints
Our LifeSaver gummies
CremeSaver
LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver

The remaining are halal



HARAM PRODUCTS BY WRIGLEYS



HALAL PRODUCTS BY WRIGLEYS




Insha'Allah please spread this around as well since this is FIRST HAND info from me and anyone can verify it by visiting the wrigleys website and using the "contact" form available there
Wrigleys website: Http://www.wrigley.com

===============================
Reply

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Muezzin
05-26-2006, 07:13 PM
Hubba-Bubba is halal! Yessssssssss

Reply

x Maz x
05-26-2006, 07:19 PM
Ent even hear half of these products...Oh my blue blazin' heck! Nooooooooooooooooo this cant be :'( :'( Wrigely's juicy fruit and spear mint...man gotta chew on some plasticy hubba bubba now :( Peace and JazakAllah akhi for the info x
Reply

Sister_6038
05-26-2006, 07:20 PM
there was another thread on this...erm it said hubba was haram...im confused....nothing new there then i guess...
Reply

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up
Ummah
05-26-2006, 07:55 PM
Asalaamualaikum

JazakhAllah, does this apply to UK also?

does this mean that all flavours for EXTRAS are halal except for the polar ice flavour?
Reply

chacha_jalebi
05-26-2006, 08:00 PM
bubblicious is d best, - alwys been halal & scrumplicious
Reply

Sister_6038
05-26-2006, 08:02 PM
im just gonna chew on erm erm...actually what other makes of chewing gum are there?? are there any??
Reply

chacha_jalebi
05-26-2006, 08:04 PM
ye u can buy dem long chewin gum sticks, u can buy lik 20 packs of chewin gum 4 a pound!! but as soon as u put d gum in ur mouth it melts lol

hmmm lol it dnt sound lik chewin gum, but it isssss
Reply

Sister_6038
05-26-2006, 08:06 PM
Originally Posted by chacha_jalebi
ye u can buy dem long chewin gum sticks, u can buy lik 20 packs of chewin gum 4 a pound!! but as soon as u put d gum in ur mouth it melts lol

hmmm lol it dnt sound lik chewin gum, but it isssss
*ok wonders what shops sells them*

well where i live its either tesco express or the shop where the shopkeeper hates me or the empty shop
Reply

chacha_jalebi
05-26-2006, 08:10 PM
i tink u can buy dem from d sweety shops lol havent you seen them in a long massive packet & after u finish the chewin gum, u can use d packet 2 whack ppl with :okay:

lol@shop dat hates me & empty shop lol
Reply

Sister_6038
05-26-2006, 08:15 PM
ok...then no wonder children are so violent nowadays....theyre given the sugar and then the weapons on top of it to commit the crimes tsk tsk...i will find those chewing gums....
Reply

Pk_#2
05-27-2006, 10:38 AM
Originally Posted by Muezzin
Hubba-Bubba is halal! Yessssssssss
LOL dint tink i'd see dat cumin from a mod :rollseyes

:sister: blesshh


hubba bubba is naff only tastes gud for the first few seconds :X
Reply

afriend
05-27-2006, 10:42 AM
Oh well, I don't chew gum anyways, but it's going 2 b WWIII trying to explain this to my family
Reply

SirZubair
05-27-2006, 10:46 AM
These things become halal and then haram so often...

...i would recommend you check it out everytime you buy a packet.

Be careful,a halal product might become haram while you're chewing it. :rollseyes
Reply

Pk_#2
05-27-2006, 10:48 AM

:rant: :grumbling :heated:

so annoying don't you fink...but den agen more products bcumin halal den da ova way...
Reply

SirZubair
05-27-2006, 10:54 AM
Originally Posted by tasmiyah_B
:rant: :grumbling :heated:

so annoying don't you fink...but den agen more products bcumin halal den da ova way...
Make your own gum at home.

http://www.coolquiz.com/trivia/explain/docs/gum.asp

;D
Reply

Pk_#2
05-27-2006, 10:55 AM
urmm..sfe i'll try dat :|

lol at link!
Reply

afriend2
05-27-2006, 10:56 AM
salaam,

my lessons shall be dull without my gum....but khalas...will just have something else inshAllah :)

wassalam :peace:
Reply

Pk_#2
05-27-2006, 10:57 AM
Try chocolate :D
Reply

Muezzin
05-27-2006, 11:01 AM
Or better yet, try posting on topic :D
Reply

Pk_#2
05-27-2006, 11:02 AM
sowi... *officially back on topic*
Reply

Jerry
05-27-2006, 08:53 PM
oh my God juicy fruit toooo :heated: NOoooo
Reply

chacha_jalebi
05-27-2006, 09:41 PM
lol i keep sayin dis,

BUBBLICIOUS is halal & d best chewin gum!!! try it yum yum
Reply

Sister_6038
05-27-2006, 09:53 PM
bubblicious is not nice flavour goes after all of five mins and you have to struggle with the massiveness of the chewing gum!!! its a chokers toy
Reply

Pk_#2
05-27-2006, 10:01 PM
^^^ agreed!
Reply

*noor
05-27-2006, 10:06 PM
awwwwwwwwwwww......... i didnt know lifesavers were haraam

the others i dont have anyways

how bout trident gum?? thats not haraam is it?
Reply

Joe98
05-27-2006, 10:10 PM
Thank you for teaching us more about Islam:love:
Reply

chacha_jalebi
05-27-2006, 10:16 PM
Originally Posted by Hatshepsut
bubblicious is not nice flavour goes after all of five mins and you have to struggle with the massiveness of the chewing gum!!! its a chokers toy
:( sista :(

erm joe r u bein sarcastic?
Reply

Pk_#2
05-27-2006, 10:17 PM
Aww dnt b sad bro :) tis jus a gum...ryt?
Reply

chacha_jalebi
05-27-2006, 10:21 PM
yesh

but its d bestest gum n its halal :)
Reply

Pk_#2
05-27-2006, 10:22 PM
Awww

i always knew the word bestest...was the bestest word....but i still dnt undastand y its not in the dictionary :S
Reply

jzcasejz
05-27-2006, 10:25 PM
:sl:

Originally Posted by Muezzin
Hubba-Bubba is halal! Yessssssssss
LMAO ;D :giggling:

But 4 real...some of Wrigleys stuff is haraam??? :grumbling Jazakallah for informing :) :brother:
Reply

akulion
05-30-2006, 01:08 AM
salam alaikum

ok further investigation has alhamdolillah led the "narrowing down of the product lines and specific flavors....so its not as bad as initially thought...please view the first post to see updated images.

ok it took a while to find the images of the individual flavors...i have updated the images above to reflect the correct changes

also i have taken the "brand" images off since they may confuse people since many flavors fall under each brand...

so now the images displayed will only display the specific "types" and "flavors" which are unsuitable for consumptions by muslims

also please note: the Products sold in the UK and other places in the world by wrigleys differ greatly and DO NOT include the products listed as haram in the first post. However if you do see them on your shop shelves, please be aware that those are products most probably imported from the USA and are manufactured using pork gelatine.

The products listed in the first post are made with a formula which requires pork gelatine to be used and thus they are to be considered haram wether available in the uk, usa or elsewhere.

jazak Allah khair for all the input - its been very helpful in narrowing down the products
Reply

BlissfullyJaded
05-30-2006, 04:15 AM
:sl:

^ Jazakallah khair brother.

So the other Juicy Fruit and Altoids Sours are halal. Yippy.
Reply

syilla
05-30-2006, 04:34 AM
is good that i don't eat sweets...

not that my teeth are perfectly white :zip:

(i wonder where is the smiley that shows his tooth... but i did notice new smileys)
Reply

akulion
05-30-2006, 08:57 AM
Originally Posted by Labibah
:sl:

^ Jazakallah khair brother.

So the other Juicy Fruit and Altoids Sours are halal. Yippy.

yes luckily for us juicy fruit stick gums are halal :D

its good to cos that the only one i usually eat lol

And altoids sours are halal but altoid mints of all varieties are not halal
Reply

Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 03:38 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2007, 06:43 PM
  3. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-29-2006, 05:12 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2006, 12:06 PM

IslamicBoard

Experience a richer experience on our mobile app!