PDA

View Full Version : What is your connection type?



afriend
06-19-2006, 09:47 PM
Just wanted to know what types of internet connection everyone had.....

It would be nice if you told us your ISP and what type of package u get too (sound like a proper Bangladeshi now init? ;D)
Reply

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
unknown_JJ
06-19-2006, 09:52 PM
evawan mus be on ntl LOL
Reply

afriend
06-19-2006, 09:54 PM
lol

Not me...I have a hidden ISP (which means I'm not telling ;D) cos it's going under some changes, and u WILL experience MANY difficulties....I'll let u kno when all works are over inshallah....they're very good and cheap, their service is excellent :thumbs_up MashAllah

I have 7.6 Mbps which should hopefully be risen to 8.0 Mbps soon inshAllah
Reply

Abdullah4ever
06-19-2006, 09:57 PM
:sl:

I use Rogers-Yahoo Broadband Internet... thats all i know of it
Reply

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up
unknown_JJ
06-19-2006, 09:58 PM
well i got 10 mbp's :p

How cheap?
Reply

afriend
06-19-2006, 10:00 PM
u get 10 meg?? MashAllah.....I'm gonna be greatfull for going from a puny 2.2 Mbps to 7.6, mashAllah it's extremely fast (for me anyways ;D)

I pay £14.99 a month (before it was £11.99) with no extra charges AT ALL....

and your monthly limit is 30 Gb (nearly impossible to reach in a month)
Reply

IbnAbdulHakim
06-19-2006, 10:02 PM
Originally Posted by Iqram
cos it's going under some changes, and u WILL experience MANY difficulties
:sl:

LOL no bhai YOU will be experiencing many difficulties!!!!! YOU!!
*points a finger at him* ;D ;D

YOU!!

i got bebox 24mbps and it is RUBBISH! Sum1 hand me a baseball bat, i think its about to disconnect me again !! :heated:

:w:
Reply

afriend
06-19-2006, 10:04 PM
LOL ;D

That's if YOU YOU YOU join the company I'm with :p
Reply

unknown_JJ
06-19-2006, 10:04 PM
me £17.99 :'(
Reply

Abdullah4ever
06-19-2006, 10:07 PM
:sl:

LOL ok my speed is 100 MPbs is that fast ?
Reply

afriend
06-19-2006, 10:07 PM
lol....that's ok for that speed....

What company did u say u wer with again?
Reply

afriend
06-19-2006, 10:08 PM
Originally Posted by Abdullah4ever
:sl:

LOL ok my speed is 100 MPbs is that fast ?
Trust me, that's fast.........
Reply

Pk_#2
06-19-2006, 10:09 PM
woah ...smashed it bro
Reply

Abdullah4ever
06-19-2006, 10:09 PM
:sl:

and i thought my internet was a snail, Alhumdillah i have that speed
Reply

Pk_#2
06-19-2006, 10:13 PM
You must be used to the speed soo much...

now you think it's a snail..

well mines is pretty fast...not wiv viruses :(
Reply

IbnAbdulHakim
06-19-2006, 10:13 PM
Originally Posted by Iqram
LOL ;D

That's if YOU YOU YOU join the company I'm with :p

:sl:

LOL LOOOOOOOL!!!! Lil bhai my mistake,

I!!! I!!!!!

I

will face difficulties if i join the same ISP as iqram.

i hope that clears up the misunderstanding *cant stop laughing astagfirullah*


:w:
Reply

afriend
06-19-2006, 10:18 PM
ROFL! MAN u crakin me up ;D

bro that's ur network speed, not ur actual internet speed.......go check the main PC to see ur speed........
Reply

Abdullah4ever
06-19-2006, 10:26 PM
:sl:

Whats that :? im not really good with computers
Reply

Skillganon
06-19-2006, 10:29 PM
I got 1mb with ukonline. Pay around £9.99. Unlimited.

Any better offer than that around Uk. I got a BT line
Reply

limitless
06-19-2006, 10:52 PM
:sl:

My current cable internet speed is 6mbit/1mbit switching to a high power one, up to 50mbit download and 25mbit upload, unlimited :) Yeah it will be a business line but only temporary for my brothers usage (paid by his college). I have this independet server (erm...hacked) which is at 250mbit/310mbit upload/download it is located in sweden so i pick up around my max in download, upload i usually go 384kbps. It is shared by other users, who upload stuff (no inapprioate videos).

:w:
Reply

Z
06-19-2006, 11:13 PM
it doesn't really matter what it says on the paper.

what matters are the speeds you get. i know people who say they have 8mbps but hardly ever reach the maximum potential of their lines. i on the other hand have a very realiable connection giving me my maximum download speed whenever needed.

what out for the 'up to' word on upcomming offers. don't be fooled.
Reply

ishkabab
06-20-2006, 12:38 AM
i have Broadband from Cablevision...pretty good and pretty fast mashAllah...dont wanna blow it..lol
Reply

Arwa
06-20-2006, 12:42 AM
:sl:

Broadband.. dunno what Mbps .. I think we are paying 25 pounds or over. Not sure.
Reply

Daffodil
06-20-2006, 05:37 PM
I have crappy analogue connection lol.
Reply

Hajar
06-20-2006, 05:42 PM
:sl:

I have a 100 Mbps.....


:w:
Reply

lolwatever
06-21-2006, 01:45 AM
Satellite internet at where i work. anyone got that at their home?

its not the satellite satellite.. its those microwave signal transmitter/reciever thingies coz they have an extranet
Reply

hidaayah
06-21-2006, 01:47 AM
:sl:
same as Hajar.100 Mbps.....
Reply

lolwatever
06-21-2006, 01:48 AM
are you sure its One Hundred MBps?!? wow that's super, i thought that was like T1
Reply

syilla
06-21-2006, 05:20 AM
mine is much slower than the snail...hmm...what is slower than the snail?

my office comp only have 128 mb and the connection is dial up. I have to live with it...as my laptop has corrupted.
Reply

Woodrow
06-21-2006, 07:29 AM
Slow dial up here max is 56 kbps but usually lucky to get 46 kbps Yes that is kilo bits per second not mega bits. But then again it costs $9 per month. That is about 4 pounds per month.
Reply

afriend
06-21-2006, 07:15 PM
But still, I'd rather pay a lot more for internet, it's fustrating to sit down and wait long times for things to load up....Probably why I'm spending a fortune on upgrading costs....tut tut
Reply

strider
06-21-2006, 07:39 PM
Assalamu alaikum

Currently, it's connected up at 100.0 Mbps. We're with BT Broadband. Don't know how much it costs though.

Ma'assalama
Reply

amirah_87
06-21-2006, 07:41 PM
i got sumthing i bought down from venus (my location!)..called Tiscali Broadband.....it's like £14.99 a month..dunno how many MPs it's got !! :?
Reply

afriend
06-21-2006, 07:42 PM
your's is 7.2 Mbps i think....
Reply

amirah_87
06-21-2006, 07:43 PM
is that good or bad ???
Reply

afriend
06-21-2006, 07:44 PM
LOL

Man that cracked me up...;D it's good, it's a little less than mine....But it's still good :thumbs_up
Reply

amirah_87
06-21-2006, 07:47 PM
LOL....:D...i ain't got a clue when it comes to stuff like this, i just go with whatever sounds good.....MPB...M stands for mega..B is for bites..innit...and is P for power!!! ( a guess!) :p
Reply

strider
06-21-2006, 07:54 PM
Mbps= Mega Bytes Per Second.
Reply

amirah_87
06-21-2006, 07:55 PM
LIKE I SOOO KNEW THAT :p
Reply

strider
06-21-2006, 07:57 PM
Originally Posted by amirah_87
LIKE I SOOO KNEW THAT :p
Sure, you did. I never did doubt... :giggling:
Reply

root
06-21-2006, 08:01 PM
LOL ok my speed is 100 MPbs is that fast ?
That's not possible unless your confusing Intranet with Internet!

People here, the quality of your broadband comes down to three things

  1. Broadband speed
  2. Contention ratio
  3. Connection type (IP-Stream or Data-Stream)


Although number 4 is probably what you do with it, My mother don't need 7mb with 10:1 contention and IP-Stream to send/receive a couple of e-mails!
Reply

Tania
06-21-2006, 08:02 PM
I have full access on the net 24 hours/day through tv cable.It cost me 12 euro/month.
Reply

afriend
06-21-2006, 08:03 PM
LOL

Always thouht that it was the local INTRANET(the network speed) not the actual INTERNET!!!

Intranet-

An intranet is a private computer network that uses Internet protocols, network connectivity, and possibly the public telecommunication system to securely share part of an organization's information or operations with its employees. Sometimes the term refers only to the most visible service, the internal website. The same concepts and technologies of the Internet such as clients and servers running on the Internet protocol suite are used to build an intranet. HTTP and other Internet protocols are commonly used as well, especially FTP and e-mail. There is often an attempt to use Internet technologies to provide new interfaces with corporate 'legacy' data and information systems.

A very common use of the terms "Intranet" and "Extranet" is to design the "private part" of a website, where "registered-on-site people" can navigate. The "login page" and the authentication mechanisms enable them. Generally in the sense that Intranet is for "employee exclusive contents", and Extranet for "customer/supplier exclusive contents".

There does not necessarily have to be any access from the organization's internal network to the Internet itself. Where there is, there will usually be a firewall with a gateway through which all access takes place, along with user authentication, encryption of messages, and the use of virtual private networks (VPNs) that tunnel through the public network. Through such devices, company information and computing resources can be shared by employees working from external locations.

Increasingly, intranets are being used to deliver tools and applications, eg: collaboration (to facilitate working in groups and for teleconferences) or sophisticated corporate directories, sales and CRM tools, project management, etc, to advance productivity.

Intranets are also being used as culture change platforms. For example, in IBM's "Jam" programme, large numbers of employees could discuss key issues in online forums, and key ideas surfaced with the aid of text analysis tools.

Intranet traffic, like public-facing web site traffic, is better understood by using web metrics software to track overall activity, as well as through surveys of users.

Intranet User Experience, Editorial, and Technology teams work together to produce in-house sites. Most commonly, intranets are owned by the communications, HR or CIO areas of large organizations, or some combination of the three.

When part of an intranet is made accessible to customers, partners, suppliers, or others outside the company, that part becomes part of an extranet.
Reply

lolwatever
06-22-2006, 01:06 AM
jeepers i hoped so! i was blown away when i saw all those 100Mbps lol

i wonder if anyone has those powerpoint internet connections.. the one they introduced in germany where the internet supplied via powerpoint.. how fast are those?
salam
Reply

Skillganon
06-22-2006, 02:02 PM
Phew, I was wondering where all those 100mbp e.t.c where coming from!
It is their network speed with the modem.
Mine is wireless, so my connection speed with the modem-router is .

Faster than my potential internet speed (1mpb).
Reply

syilla
06-23-2006, 01:39 AM
Originally Posted by Woodrow
Slow dial up here max is 56 kbps but usually lucky to get 46 kbps Yes that is kilo bits per second not mega bits. But then again it costs $9 per month. That is about 4 pounds per month.
hehe...woodrow...the my speed dial up is 56kbps...

128 is the ram...

can u imagine how slow is my computer is....

i think much slower than the 'slower than the snail'...
Reply

The Ruler
09-01-2006, 03:47 PM
i dunno how ta find out de speed :? :?
Reply

jello
09-01-2006, 05:26 PM
:sl:

I technically have dial-up connection in my house, but I am normally in a Net cafe since it is much better for my purposes (so I voted dial-up :) )
Reply

Mujahidah4Allah
09-01-2006, 05:28 PM
:sl:

we gots sum broad band thing but i have no idea what mbps :s

ma'salamah
Reply

Dahir
09-01-2006, 08:09 PM
Aaah! Mine says "Status:Connected 100MBPS." Does that mean I win?

Because when I download stuff, I only go at 387KBPS.


:(
Reply

lolwatever
09-01-2006, 08:32 PM
Originally Posted by Dahir
Aaah! Mine says "Status:Connected 100MBPS." Does that mean I win?

Because when I download stuff, I only go at 387KBPS.


:(
lol ur so lost, that's your NETWORK card speed that's 100MBps... you're interent connection probaby is 512 max..
Reply

Dahir
09-01-2006, 08:44 PM
Originally Posted by lolwatever
lol ur so lost, that's your NETWORK card speed that's 100MBps... you're interent connection probaby is 512 max..
:uhwhat
Reply

lolwatever
09-02-2006, 12:44 AM
512kbps incase u thought i meant 512 mbps :p
Reply

Dahir
09-02-2006, 12:46 AM
Originally Posted by lolwatever
512kbps incase u thought i meant 512 mpps :p
So I have only 512kbps, that's slow, right? DARN IT!! :uhwhat :grumbling
Reply

lolwatever
09-02-2006, 12:50 AM
Originally Posted by Dahir
So I have only 512kbps, that's slow, right? DARN IT!! :uhwhat :grumbling
lol no man that's pretty good for household..

the fastest i know of is T1 which is 10000Mbps which isn't for household (it is, but v xpensiv), and then 1.5Mbps.. and then 1Mbps.. and then 512Kbps... so ur ranked pretty highly

then 256, 128, 64, 56, 48.8, 32, 28.8, 16....
Reply

Abdul-Raouf
09-02-2006, 01:07 AM
Till last year i had dialup (56kbps)........
now im having broadband connection(256kbps)...for 500rupees....ie 10.75US $....ie 8.40Euro ... per month ... with a limit of 1GB per month and u can have free access(doesnt count on that 1GB)from 2am to 8am.......
Reply

The Ruler
09-02-2006, 01:06 PM
how do i find out de connection speed :mmokay: ??
Reply

The Ruler
09-02-2006, 01:08 PM
salam..

i jus got myn...it says 2.2 Mbps...but i voted 1 mbps or less cuz i didnt kno :rollseyes:

wassalam
Reply

afriend
09-02-2006, 01:14 PM
;D

I used to have that sluggish speed until.....SHAZZAM!!!

And I still pay same price for 2.2 Mbps...My IP loves me ;D

7.6Mbps :)
Reply

The Ruler
09-02-2006, 01:16 PM
Originally Posted by Iqram
;D

I used to have that sluggish speed until.....SHAZZAM!!!

And I still pay same price for 2.2 Mbps...My IP loves me ;D

7.6Mbps :)
:anger: no fair...howd u get dat????? :grumbling....i get sooo frustrated wid dis connection speed...even de downloads r waaaaaayyyy slow :grumbling...tiscali suks :grumbling

:w:
Reply

afriend
09-02-2006, 01:20 PM
AHHHHH!!! LOL!! My old company until I switched to Plusnet :coolious: in a week ;D ROFL!!

You should switch, quick ;D
Reply

Abdul-Raouf
12-22-2006, 03:55 PM
In india at lowest level we are currently having broadband for 5.5$/month @256kbps - with a limit of 0.4GB/month

We have several high speed plans but the above one is the cheapest broadband plan in india now...

And now the good news is
from comin january 1st 2007 its going to be 5.5$/month @2Mbps - with a limit of 1GB/month..
Reply

Daffodil
12-22-2006, 04:29 PM
I FINALLY GOT BROADBAND YAYYYYYYYYYYYYY

we're with virgin now, DO NOT GO WITH TISCALI THE SERVICE IS BEYOND DIRE, we spent hours on the fone with them theyre crap, the service is whack, theyre on my boycott list. they need a whole series and not just a programme on watchdog thats how crap they are.

virgin is the best i love virigin.

we have 6gb download n its 8mb
Reply

Pk_#2
12-22-2006, 04:51 PM
Originally Posted by Daffodil
I FINALLY GOT BROADBAND YAYYYYYYYYYYYYY

we're with virgin now, DO NOT GO WITH TISCALI THE SERVICE IS BEYOND DIRE, we spent hours on the fone with them theyre crap, the service is whack, theyre on my boycott list. they need a whole series and not just a programme on watchdog thats how crap they are.

virgin is the best i love virigin.

we have 6gb download n its 8mb
LOL yay!! :p
Reply

habiibti
12-22-2006, 05:04 PM
I didnt vote,because to be honest i have no idea what that is and how to find out,but the good thing is,i am not complaining.I dont do alot online at home except for e.mails and lectures mostly which seems to be working fine.

How do we find out the speed again?
Reply

Ninth_Scribe
12-22-2006, 05:06 PM
Originally Posted by Iqram
Just wanted to know what types of internet connection everyone had.....

It would be nice if you told us your ISP and what type of package u get too (sound like a proper Bangladeshi now init? ;D)
It varies. From my home, on static IP 24.91.207.51 I have broadband access, but it hovers around 100 mbps.

On public wireless, it's usually slower... dpends where I am. lol.

Didn't help much, did it? :okay:

Ninth Scribe
Reply

no1_outbider
12-22-2006, 05:47 PM
I have something called! ISDN/DSL package!!

i pay 10 EUR monthly for the actuall DSL and around 20 EURO for the line!

Yep its broadband! its always boradband in germany!
Reply

Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-25-2016, 12:37 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 11:01 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 03:41 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-30-2008, 09:49 PM
  5. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-25-2006, 10:14 PM

IslamicBoard

Experience a richer experience on our mobile app!