/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Blackrook
10-26-2006, 06:37 AM
I am an immigration lawyer and I represent people from all over the world. Three of my clients right now are from Afghanistan. They are seeking political aslyum in the United States to get away from the Taliban.

My sister married an Egyptian, and converted to Islam. Previously, she was an athiest and her life was a total disaster. Now, she's settled down and taking life seriously.

So with that said, my personal experience with Muslim people has rather favorable. However, the image I get of Muslim people from the news is extremely bad.

Every day you hear about Muslims in the street rioting, burning churches, killing people, and committing acts of terrorism.

Ever since 9/11, people are perceiving Muslim people as the enemy. Every time a Muslim commits an act of violence, that perception grows stronger.

I'm sure you're all aware of the problem I'm talking about. The question I have is, what do you plan to do about it?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
F.Y.
10-26-2006, 07:42 AM
Hey Blackrook - nice to have you here! Welcome. :)
Yes, the problem you are talking about, we are quite aware of. It faces us everyday - I think about it everyday. Our strategy right now is education, education, education. It is a very complex problem - and I hardly think it can be solved in an instant. Some things are very overpowering - political decisions and the way people choose to act in certain situations can have a major effect on lifestyles and the perception others have of us.
My personal plan is this: Actions say more than words. I smile, attempt to have a friendly chat with everyone (not necessarily about Islam or the state of the world), have a joke with people, and do 'kind' things for people;e.g. give them advice if they're struggling (I'm a teacher), open doors, carry books - stuff that is hopefully considered to be polite.