/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Can I make dua for my mom who died and was not muslim

maryamjp
11-03-2006, 03:42 AM
:sl:
Assalamu Alikum, brothers and sisters,
My mother died 3 years back. She was not muslim, but wonderful mother with good characters such as sincere, honest, hard work, neat and clean, generous. I was thinking someday I would make her muslim but the day had come to her suddenly when I was living far away from her. That day I was shocked , at the same time coursed myself why I didn't make her muslim.
Since my background is totally non-islamic( I am reverted muslim), It was hard to introduce islam to my aged mother.
Anyway I still wanna pray Allah for my mother, but can I make dua for her?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
AnonymousPoster
11-03-2006, 05:27 PM
I had a dear friend who passed and wasn't muslim, one of the many reasons for my devestation save his young age as well. I was advised not to make prayers or Duaa for him, but did anyway. It helped me with my greiving. As God knows there were some days when it seemed so senseless that I couldn't even get out of bed!

Perhaps I am giving you wrong advise? I know others will oppose. I don't see prayers for a non-muslim as a cardinal sin. as the Prophet Peace be upon him used to make duaa to Omar Ibn Ilkhtab, but that was for Guidence unto the right path, and his prayers were answered.

Anyhow, I have always been partial to whatever helps a person get over their grief and sense of loss...

I am sorry for your troubles dear sister.
:w:

whitesoul
11-03-2006, 06:23 PM