/* */

PDA

View Full Version : confused! :(

Malaikah
01-20-2007, 08:40 AM
:sl:

Ok, so I'm in second year optometry and I am thinking of changing my course to something else because in my profession I will be forced to work with male patients, touch their faces and put my own face like 2 cm away from theirs.+o( :exhausted

From what I understand, it is haram for women to treat male patient (and vice versa) unless there is an extreme and specific need to do so, such as there is no male doctor the male can go to so I have to treat him so he doesn't die or something.

Everyone is against me (relatives, that is). They ALL think that is permissible for women to treat men because treating people is a wonderful thing and that your intention is to help them and that doctor type people are given special leave from their lord to work with the opposite sex. I personally don't see how that is so.

Other arguments include:

- why don't you just drop out of uni, go get married and sit at home.:X

-God gave you a trust- he gave you the intellect to get good results and get into a course that not many people can achieve. You haven't got the right to say no, I don't want this honour, and to throw away the gift that God has given you. :rollseyes You can't just turn around and say to God, "I do not want your blessing".

-In addition to above, you went from a superior career (i.e. a career were you help people and people respect you) to something totally inferior (I am considering being a teacher inshaallah). Apparently teachers are looked down upon and not respected, the kids treat them like dirt, whereas everyone respects optometrists.

:cry:

I struck a deal with my uncle, he said he would take me to three scholars and if even one of them said it is haram then he will leave me to it and support me, inshaallah. But if they all say it is halal then I have to stay in my course. (I bumped the number up to three in case we got stuck with someone who said it was halal)