/* */

PDA

View Full Version : My parents

michaelconvert
02-04-2007, 05:58 AM
Salaam
Hi im Michael. I am new to Islam but im trying my best to learn. I got the book Arabic For Dummies I assume that it will help my learn my prayers. It's really hard to learn a new language but i will eventually. The main problem is telling my parents. I do not want to deny Allah but i also love my parents. They are decent people but they’ve raised me to be christian so i know that they will go crazy. Negative media has very much warped their view of Islam and they will not except me. I want to wait until im 18 to tell them, but i dont want to deny Allah. What do I do?

ps: im not sure where to post this stuff.....just took a shot

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Angelzz
02-04-2007, 09:48 AM
Wasalaams Michael, Firstly welcome to islam Brother mashaAllah.

I am also a new revert and yes it is very difficult to tell your parents (i still havent told them outright) and i totally agree and understand that u dont want to deny allah . But alhamdulillah Allah knows how difficult it is for you and understands what your going through and seeing your not even 18 yet and i assume rely on ur parents for housing etc - holding off telling them is a good idea.

In this time it is also best to increase ur knowledge about islam. That way when u do tell them u can answer any questions they may raise sensibly and with knowledge instead of having a islam V christianity arguement.

InshaAllah brother Allah makes this easy for u remember to make dua.
If you have any problems or questions we are always here for you InshaAllah.

Btw Arabic is daunting to learn at first -- its better to go to some sort of arabic classes in ur area - i started mine on saturday and alhamdulillah it was so great looking forward to next week.

Snowflake
02-04-2007, 09:57 AM
Aslam alaikum brother Michael,