/* */

PDA

View Full Version : I AM in the Holy Quran?

Talha777
03-31-2007, 12:24 AM
فَلَمَّا أَتَاهَا نُودِي مِن شَاطِئِ الْوَادِي الْأَيْمَنِ فِي الْبُقْعَةِ الْمُبَارَكَةِ مِنَ الشَّجَرَةِ أَن يَا مُوسَى إِنِّي أَنَا اللَّهُ رَبُّ الْعَالَمِينَ

(Al-Qasas 28:30)

I'm not an expert in the Arabic language, but I was wandering that why is this not translated as "O Moses! Verily I am I AM Allah" (Ya moosa innee ana Allahu...)? What exactly does "innee ana" signify?

I suspect this is a reference to the following verse of the Book of Exodus:

God replied, "I am who am." Then he added, "This is what you shall tell the Israelites: I AM sent me to you." (Exodus 3:14)

What are your thoughts on this, especially if you are proficient in Arabic?

Here are how others have translated it as:

O Moses! Lo! I, even I, am Allah, the Lord of the Worlds (Picktall)

"O Moses! Verily I am Allah, the Lord of the Worlds.... (Yusuf Ali)

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
amirah_87
03-31-2007, 11:05 PM
:sl:

Could you elaborate abit more on that please. I don't get your question?!?

JazaakAllah Khayr.

.:Umniyah:.
03-31-2007, 11:23 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by Talha777
فَلَمَّا أَتَاهَا نُودِي مِن شَاطِئِ الْوَادِي الْأَيْمَنِ فِي الْبُقْعَةِ الْمُبَارَكَةِ مِنَ الشَّجَرَةِ أَن يَا مُوسَى إِنِّي أَنَا اللَّهُ رَبُّ الْعَالَمِينَ

(Al-Qasas 28:30)

I'm not an expert in the Arabic language, but I was wandering that why is this not translated as "O Moses! Verily I am I AM Allah" (Ya moosa innee ana Allahu...)? What exactly does "innee ana" signify?

I suspect this is a reference to the following verse of the Book of Exodus:

God replied, "I am who am." Then he added, "This is what you shall tell the Israelites: I AM sent me to you." (Exodus 3:14)

What are your thoughts on this, especially if you are proficient in Arabic?

Here are how others have translated it as:

O Moses! Lo! I, even I, am Allah, the Lord of the Worlds (Picktall)