/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Can a girl get married without parents permission???

Hamza786
07-28-2005, 12:53 PM
:sl:

The topic "Can a girl get married without parents permission" is quite serious now in the western society.

A girl came to me and said, my parents disagree with the guy i chose because of his looks, i like him a lot and vice versa. so im going to go and make someone else my guardian and go forward with this.

i gave her the hanifi point of view. i was just wondering if someone would explain the view point of imam shafi. i am studying comparitive fiqh but wud appreciate it if i cud hear from someone who already knows.

jazakallah khair
:w:

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Bittersteel
07-28-2005, 01:42 PM
I think so.

Halima
07-28-2005, 04:17 PM
Salaam,

No, a girl cannot get married without her parent's permission. She can if she wanted to, but it is not allowed. If a girl wants to get married, first she has to have her father's approval that she can get married to the guy. Secondly there has to be her father to help pay foe the wedding. Thirdly, her father has to be there in order to be her Wali. Without any of these reasons, then how can she get married without her father? In addtion to that if you think about it what if she gets divorced and then her husband send her back to her fathers's house. Without her father knowing she may never even be allowed to come back to her father's house.

Wasalaam.

Bittersteel
07-28-2005, 04:40 PM
well doesn't Islam gives freedom to women and men to choose their own life partners?

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Halima
07-28-2005, 05:14 PM
Salaam,