/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Is it haram to work as a mortagage/financial adviser in bank in uk?

peace800
04-02-2007, 02:18 PM
Salaam

I completed a finance degree at university and have been offered a job as a mortgage adviser for a bank in the uk. I know that interest is haram, no doubt about that but I am now worried that I will be doing haram even though I wont be charging interest myself I will just be advising customers as to what products meet their needs. I have heard some people that it is not haram to work in a bank in the uk like that and some say it is, I am totally worried and have few other career options. I would like some advice.

Thanks.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
'Abd al-Baari
04-02-2007, 02:23 PM
:sl:

This was on a different thread

Working in a riba-based (interest-based) bank

Question:

Aslamoaliakum.

I have been offered a job at a Bank, and I am not sure whether I should work there or not, because the bank makes money from interest (Riba). Please tell me whether working there is allowed (Jaaiz), or not.

jazaakum-Allah-khair.

Answer:

Praise be to Allaah.

You will find the answer in the hadeeth of Jaabir, may Allaah be pleased with him, who said: "The Messenger of Allaah cursed the one who consumes riba (interest or usury), the one who gives it, the one who writes it down and the one who witnesses it. He said: 'All of them are equal in sin.'" (Reported by Muslim, may Allaah have mercy on him, in his Saheeh, no. 1598)

Commenting on this hadeeth, al-Nawawi, may Allaah have mercy on him, said: This is clearly a prohibition of the writing down or witnessing of a contract between the two parties involved in a riba-based deal. It also includes a prohibition of helping others to commit wrong acts. And Allaah knows best.