/* */

PDA

View Full Version : "Pharmacology" anyone?

Al-Hanbali
04-26-2007, 09:06 PM
:salamext:

I was just wondering if anyone here studies or knows anything about "Pharmacology".

I just had a few queries like what does the subject involve studying?, how long is the course?, what career options are there?, is the profession of Pharmacist linked which this subject? etc.

I would be really greatful if someone could shed some light on this.

Jazak'ALLAH Khair. :)

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Musaafirah
04-26-2007, 10:06 PM
:sl:
In the course I'm studying, we did one pharmacology module last year. Basically it's about drug interaction with the drug target. I think you'll need to do a "Pharamacy" degree to actually become a registered pharamcist, but I'm not too sure..
Oh, I hope I haven't confused you or anything!
:w:

akhan
04-26-2007, 10:46 PM
Well I know that tot become a pharmacist you need to do 4 years of school after your Bachelors..this is in the USA. Pharmacology is the study of all aspects of drugs....their chemistry, molecular structure, interactions, distribution within the body, etc......Pharmacists here make a good living.

Nσσя'υℓ Jαииαн
04-27-2007, 04:05 AM
:w:

It's the study of how substances interact with living organisms. Pharmacologists are responsible for the discovery of hundreds of chemicals used in the treatment of disease and the relief of human and animal suffering.

A wide variety of career options are open to those with pharmacology qualifications:

Drug hunting in the pharmaceutical industry involves research at the cutting edge of many aspects of biology using the most modern techniques and facilities.

Basic or applied biology research in Universities and other institutions covers areas as diverse as AIDS, cancer and Alzheimer's dementia.

Clinical research takes drugs from the laboratory into the clinic and establishes the effectiveness of medicines in patients.